PXE Server – Last One

I promise I will leave it alone but I couldn’t resist the temptation of adding the option to install Windows 7 and Windows 2008 to the menu option. Thanks to the instructions below (and the very handy exe files to do it all automatically for you that are available at the same location – http://diddy.boot-land.net/pxe/files/winpe.htm), the longest part of the process was to download the Windows 7 Automated Installation Kit (WAIK), and I was then up and running in a flash. First create a WinPE 3.0 image using the installed WAIK (it does install fine on Windows XP, wasn’t sure I didn’t need Windows 2003 but it was fine), then deploy it to the tftp install – all that automated through 2 scripts! Awesome job, and it does work!

Once WinPE 3.0 is booted, it is a matter of mapping the location of the Windows 7 or Windows 2008 installer via the command prompt and run setup.exe. Hey presto, one network install coming right up!

